Skip to main Content
Site Search

Advanced Search

  • Mondo Visione
  • Mondo Visione - Worldwide Exchange Intelligence
Member Login

Member Login

Forgotten your password?

OIC Announces Edward J. Joyce To Receive Joseph W. Sullivan Award At The Annual Options Industry Conference

Date 23/02/2012

The Options Industry Council (OIC) announced today Edward J. Joyce as the 2012 recipient of the Joseph W. Sullivan Options Industry Achievement Award. This recognition on behalf of outstanding contributions to the growth and integrity of the U.S. options market. The award presentation will be at the 30th Annual Options Industry Conference, being held at The Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans, from May 3-5.

“Ed was incredibly passionate about options and a true pioneer in our industry,” said Gina McFadden, OIC President. “Ed’s accomplishments were many, but perhaps his greatest was his role as an unwavering investor advocate. Many of the initiatives he was instrumental in bringing to our industry -- increasing technology in the trading process, developing investor education programs and bringing innovative new products to the options marketplace -- were with the customer experience in mind.”

Mr. Joyce is the former President and Chief Operating Officer of CBOE Holdings, Inc., Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE) and C2 Options Exchange (C2). He stepped down from that position at the end of 2011, concluding a distinguished 38-year career with the company.

"I am honored to receive this year’s award and be recognized with so many distinguished recipients before me. I am particularly humbled to share this achievement with my mentor, Joe Sullivan,” said Mr. Joyce. “I was fortunate to work alongside so many talented colleagues, both at CBOE and throughout our industry, during my career. We should all be proud of how much the options industry has grown since 1973. Despite the intense competition, there is a true innovative spirit and collaborative will among us. This has served our industry well in the past and will continue to guide us in the future.”

Mr. Joyce served as President and COO of CBOE from 2000 to 2011. During that time, his leadership was instrumental in guiding many key initiatives for the company, including creating CBOE’s innovative Hybrid trading system, developing the VIX product line, launching the all-electronic CBOE Futures Exchange (CFE) and C2 Options Exchange and executing CBOE’s demutualization and initial public offering.

He began his career with the exchange in 1974, and held various positions with CBOE including Executive Vice President of Trading Operations and Executive Vice President of Business Development. In his business development capacity, Mr. Joyce had oversight of various key activities central to relationship management, including marketing, member trading services and the CBOE Options Institute, the educational arm of CBOE.

In addition to his responsibilities for CBOE’s options business, Mr. Joyce supervised CBOE’s futures business, serving as President of the CBOE Futures Exchange (CFE) from its inception in 2002 to 2011 and sitting on CFE’s Board of Directors from 2002 to 2010.

Mr. Joyce served on the board of directors of OCC for twenty years. He previously served on the board of directors of the National Stock Exchange (NSX) and One Chicago. Mr. Joyce was also on the advisory board of the Illinois Council on Economic Education and is active in the Knights of Columbus.

The previous Sullivan Award recipients are: Joseph Sullivan himself, Wayne Luthringshausen, Paul Stevens, Ivers Riley, Thomas Peterffy, Jeffrey Yass, David Krell, Bill Brodsky, Bill Porter and Larry McMillan.