Skip to main Content
Site Search

Advanced Search

  • Mondo Visione
  • Mondo Visione - Worldwide Exchange Intelligence
Member Login

Member Login

Forgotten your password?

FESE: 2020 Winner Of THE FESE De La Vega Prize

Date 26/05/2020

The Federation of European Securities Exchanges (FESE) is delighted to announce that the FESE De la Vega Prize 2020 is awarded to Roger Silvers, Assistant Professor, University of Utah for his paper “Does regulatory cooperation help integrate equity markets?”.

The paper studies how cooperative arrangements between securities regulators facilitate market integration.

Cooperation between securities regulators enables

  • enhanced cross-border enforcement,
  • better regulatory decisions through learning and shared experiences, and
  • reduced regulatory red tape in cross-border activities.

Using these arrangements as indicators of cooperation that are scattered across different country-pairs at different times, the tests reveal an 11% increase in cross-border equity investment — about $1.8 trillion in aggregate. Asset pricing tests of cross-listed firms reveal a shift in risk exposures from the local to global market indices, consistent with enhanced market integration.

Cross-border investment and market integration thus appear to depend, in part, on regulatory counterparts working together to extend legal and institutional capacities across borders.

The Prize was awarded by Rainer Riess, FESE Director General, on Tuesday, 26th May 2020 during our webinar event on “Capital Market Union and Covid-19 – Re-equitising the European Economy”.

To download the paper click here

Information for the Editor

FESE De la Vega Prize:  Every year FESE invites researchers, academics, and practitioners to submit papers to the FESE De la Vega Prize for an outstanding research paper related to the securities markets in Europe. Papers about current developments in European securities markets which promote public markets are particularly welcome.

The winning paper is agreed upon by an independent Jury.  Members include:

Söhnke M. Bartram, Ph.D., Professor of Finance, University of Warwick and CEPR
Alain Durré, Ph.D., Executive Director and Economiste en chef, Goldman Sachs Paris
Sarah Draus, Ph.D., Center for Studies in Economics and Finance at Universita di Napoli Federico II
Marlene D. Haas, Ph.D., Associate, Cornerstone Research
Björn Hagströmer, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Stockholm Business School, Stockholm University
Thomas Johann, Assistant Professor, University of Mannheim
Arman Khachaturyan, Ph.D., Director General, Financial Policy: Economic and Financial Affairs, Eurasian Economic Commission
Nondas Cl. Metaxas, Former CEO of the Cyprus Stock Exchange
Angel Pardo Tornero, Professor, Department of Financial Economics, University of Valencia
Talis Putnins, Professor, Finance Discipline Group, University of Technology Sydney
Satchit Sagade, Assistant Professor of Finance, Goethe University
Apostolos Thomadakis, Ph.D., Researcher, CEPS
Christian Westheide, Assistant Professor of Finance, University of Vienna

Further information and details about this prestigious prize can be found on the FESE website.